Review: Susie Q’s Restuarant Bardstown Ky.

Well, since retirement, I have been spending time with my daughter and we have had some real experiences.  I kept thinking that I should let people know about these little local gems that we are finding.  I do book reviews then surely I could expand that to other things…..so my rattling begins…..

The absolute perfect example of a local gem is Susie Q’s in Bardstown, Kentucky.  Don’t let the simple and quaint overtones fool you.  This place delivers class, quality and heavenly flavors on a plate (with a side order of homemade potato chips.) Whether your taste is for the down home style pot roast or the original style Ruben, you will not be disappointed.

I opted for the chicken salad on a croissant, homemade, of course.  It was divine, with a slightly sweet after taste and a good crunch of pickle and fresh breast of chicken.  Simple and delightful.

Paula, chose the Ruben, the thinly sliced corned-beef was perfect with the homemade sauce. On marbled rye bread it was a work of art. (Per Paula)

Now to my daughter Desiree, who chose the slaw burger and may never stop talking about it.  It was a juicy (yes, you could see the juice running from it) 1/4 lb Angus burger loaded with their own homemade slaw that was made with lettuce, and that, by the moans emanating from Desi, was obviously delicious.

Slaw Burger

Slaw Burger

We are already planning a quick return to try out the meatloaf and the desserts (Oh, did I mention 3-4″ high homemade apple pie with ice cream and caramel, and homemade coconut, chocolate, and lemon meringue pies….shall I go on…). Great food at a great price and friendly service!

Located at 607 West Stephen Foster Ave. In Bardstown, Ky.  Price: $5-$10  502-331-9298

379371_589605134389557_1913535747_n

